Speaker Series.

Our annual Speaker Series brings internationally-recognized artists, critics, and art professionals to Baltimore to inspire, awe, and challenge our home audience. Each year the theme shifts to reflect contemporary practices and trends. All lectures are free and held at the Baltimore School for the Arts, located at 712 Cathedral Street (unless otherwise noted).

Upcoming.

2016-17: CoHosts II.

In 2014, we launched with CoHosts, our inaugural Speaker Series, which was organized with thirteen local commercial, artist-run, and independent galleries. Each gallery responded to a simple question: Who is the one artist or art professional that you want The Contemporary to bring to Baltimore? In 2016-17, we've decided to resume the series and have partnered with six artist-run platforms including EARTHSEED, First Continent, Penthouse Gallery, Platform Gallery, Terrault Contemporary, and Transmodern Festival.

The Yes Men + Transmodern Festival

Monday, November 28

7pm Lecture

Baltimore School for the Arts

Kimberly Drew + Platform Gallery

Monday, December 12

7pm Lecture

Baltimore School for the Arts

Archive.

2015–16: Talking Shop.

Talking Shop partnered acclaimed artists and professionals from various disciplines to discuss the nexus of art, science, medicine, technology, politics, and more.

Art + Activism

Tania Bruguera + Eddie Conway

moderated by Lionel Foster

Recorded Thursday, March 10

Craft + Defiance

Joyce J. Scott + Marquis Revlon

moderated by Lee Heinemann

Recorded Tuesday, November 17

Humor + Absurdity

Jerry Saltz + Stavros Halkias

moderated by Lu Zhang

Recorded Wednesday, September 30

Health + Inequity

LaToya Ruby Frazier + Dr. Lisa Cooper

moderated by Elissa Blount-Moorhead

Recorded Monday, June 29

3D Printing + Access

Adam Metallo/Vince Rossi + Dwyer Kilcollin

moderated by Ginevra Shay

Recorded Thursday, May 21

2014–15: CoHosts.

CoHosts was organized with thirteen local commercial, artist-run, and independent galleries. Each gallery responded to a simple question: Who is the one artist or art professional that you want The Contemporary to bring to Baltimore?

Tamms Year Ten

CoHosted with John Fonda Gallery

Recorded Tuesday, February 17

Letha Wilson

CoHosted with ICA Baltimore

Recorded Thursday, January 29

Guerrilla Girls

CoHosted with Area 405

Recorded Thursday, October 23

Sanford Biggers

CoHosted with Gallery Four

Recorded Wednesday, October 8

Jacob Khepler

CoHosted with Open Space

Recorded Wednesday, September 24

Andrew W.K.

CoHosted with Current Space

Recorded Thursday, September 4

Shinique Smith

CoHosted with Galerie Myrtis

Recorded Thursday, May 1

Type A

CoHosted with Lease Agreement

Recorded Monday, April 21

Jon Rafman

CoHosted with Springsteen Gallery

Recorded Wednesday, April 2

Wayne White

CoHosted with Gallery CA

Recorded Thursday, March 27

Brendan Fowler

CoHosted with Nudashank

Recorded Wednesday, March 5

Nick Cave

CoHosted with Pinebox Art Center

Recorded Tuesday, February 18

Coco Fusco

CoHosted with Guest Spot

Recorded Monday, January 13